Unit 3: The National Health Priority Areas (NHPAs)

Reason For Learning

The nine conditions and diseases selected as National Health Priority Areas contribute significantly to the overall burden of disease of Australians. All conditions have preventable components, so having an understanding of them can assist the population to live healthier lives and, ultimately, improve health status.

Learning Intention

•the National Health Priority Areas (NHPAs) including: key features and reasons for selection of each NHPA; determinants that act as risk factors; direct, indirect and intangible costs to individuals and communities of NHPAs; and one health promotion program relevant to each NHPA;

Key Vocabulary Terms

Select from the options below to edit settings for this learning bite.

Level Classification and Subject Group

These settings allow you to adjust the learning bite metadata. You can change the level or subject for indexing purposes on the home screen.

Level Classification

Subject Group

External LMS Integration

This setting enables you to link to a third-party LMS provider. Placing a valid URL here will cause the Resources tab for this Learning Bite to redirect to an external LMS provider.

External LMS URL